Those Unforseen Changes…

Everyone knows that in life, things can change at the drop of a hat. It doesn’t have to be anything major, but sometimes, they can change an entire gameplan.

For me, I have changed my MCM idea. And I’m not sure I’ll be able to pull it off.

It all started when my partner mentioned that he thought it would be a great idea to cosplay as a male version of Sally from Nightmare Before Christmas to our friend, whom we are heading to MCM with. She loved the idea and agreed to help him with his coat that he had designed. But then he showed her a picture of a female Oogie Boogie, and that was that. She LOVED the idea of a female Oogie. And to make things even better (for her) she already has a lot of hessian fabric. With both of them having decided that they were going to do NbC, it fell to me to take on the mantle of Jack.

Now, I don’t mind doing Jack. Technically, I have decided NOT to crossplay, as I will not be going as Jack, but a female interpretation of him, so that isn’t the issue. The issue is that I now have to design and make an entire outfit in less than a month, while at the same time starting a new job. I am going to be in Leeds a lot between now and MCM, and I’m not likely to take my sewing machine with me when I go (I mean, come on, have you tried transporting a sewing machine on a train?!) so I am a little concerned about how I am going to have the time to complete the coat I am designing. On top of that, I need to find a very specific fabric to use, and my local shop doesn’t sell it. Nor can I find it for a reasonable price online without ordering from abroad. It’s looking like it will be a very tight make…

A part of me wishes that I had declined to participate in the NbC cosplay, but I loved the idea of going as a matching character set so much I couldn’t resist the temptation. I suppose, in a way, I just wanted to feel that I was actually a part of something, and not simply a tagger-on for the hell of it. While I am desperate to not be “left out”, I am still regretting my decision a tiny bit. At least I know that I can finish LeFay in the time I have, but this… I have no way of even guessing, partly because I have no idea where to get the fabric from and partly because I have never made anything like a ladies’ coat before. I mean, my current attempt at a bustier is going to be hit and miss, so how am I to deal with a fully lined coat?!

On the other hand, it wouldn’t be fun if it wasn’t a challenge, and I’ll feel a greater sense of achievement when I do complete it, yes?

So on I crack!

Leave a Reply

