Progress on LeFay

So, obviously, LeFay was not completed for MCM Birmingham, and since then I have had little time to work on it due to a house move.  It’s quite difficult to sew things when the sewing machine is in a box at the bottom of a pile of boxes!

But, as things stand, the apron and bustle train are finished, as are the leg ruffles and headpiece.  Once I acquire some boning, I will be able to continue with the bustier.  I have taken most of it (the bustier) apart as I was not happy with the way it was fitting, and with good cause – I had somehow managed to sew the seams too small!  Once those are fixed, and the boning purchased, I should be able to make good headway with it.  I am also debating at the moment what kind of decoration to put on the front.  It currently has a nice little ruffle at the bust, but I wanted something to go right in the centre to really make the ruffles pop.  I wish I could show you some proper photos, but at the moment, I am in Leeds, two hours away from home!

I will, however, show you some older pictures that I took for a little bit of fun, just so you can see how shiny and pretty the material is!

DSC_4992

Detail from the apron section.  Note the lace-up back, instead of a traditional buckle or button. I wanted the apron to be used as a bustle as well as an apron, so the corset-style panel made more sense as the whole piece can be worn reversed now.

10675786_10154728178690525_4075748767890553815_n

Detail of the crystals and pearls that feature throughout the design.  I have used Swarovski brand embellishments, simply because I know and trust their quality.

10525648_10154432399865525_2899924489731035749_n

Close up detail of the headpiece, once more featuring Swarovski crystals and pearls, plus gold coloured seed beads and green wire.  The idea was to have it look like a tiara, all sparkly and regal, while at the same time, rough and… what’s the word I’m looking for? Alive?  I suppose…  Organic…?

Leave a Reply

