Valkyria Shoulder Maille

It’s been a while since I posted anything about my original character, Valkyria, but I have finally taken her outfit out of storage and started to look at finishing it as I may need it for a photoshoot next week. For the most part, it’s complete, but the corset isn’t going to be finished on time. This isn’t going to cause too much of an issue, because I have a leatherette corset I can wear instead. However, I really wanted to get the shoulder maille finished – the Valkyria piece utilises three different mailling techniques and I am really quite proud of the fact that I have learnt how to do them by myself, so I wanted to show it off!

Since the last time I showed the piece, there have been a few more “trophy” additions, including a wooden button, clock/watch parts, and come traditional gears with attached charms. The whole idea of the shoulder piece is that it displays small items that mean something significant to Valkyria – it is a mish-mash of rubbish and collected pieces that, on their own, are completely worthless, but in the grand scheme of Valkyria’s story, they hold sentimental value.

DSC_6421

My favourite new addition is actually the watch movement with dangling cogs. I love mechanical watch movements, and I am starting to build up a collection of pocket watches as a result. The intricacy of the watch has always fascinated me – all of the pieces have to mesh together perfectly, otherwise the watch simply doesn’t work. I love that idea, so I knew I had to incorporate some of that aesthetic into the piece. It’s a reminder to work as a cohesive whole – that we can not truly reach our full potential unless we are complete. This watch no longer works, but the individual pieces can still serve as a reminder that we are part of a bigger picture.

DSC_6422

Leave a Reply

