WIP: Mermaid Necklace

My Steampunk Mermaid is temporarily on hold, just because I’m not sure what to do next. I have the basic idea for her, and the skirt and bolero-cape are pretty much done, but I haven’t quite figured out the next step. I acquired some gorgeous purple fabric but I don’t want to start cutting until I know precisely what I want to do.

So anyhow, in the meantime, I had some lovely Bijoux crystals that I were originally bought in Hobbycraft for me by my Mum to use on the wedding decorations.

dsc_7398

They never got used, but they just happened to be the perfect colour to craft some jewellery for my mermaid!
I had some silver headpins which were bought at the same time, and I took inspiration from My Girlish Whims to put together a form of cascade design for a necklace.

dsc_7396

Whereas the inspiration piece uses individual droplets on each link, I decided that I wanted something a little more varied with my design. My hope was to create something reminiscent of water running down a pane of glass.

dsc_7397

The plan is to create a matching set of earrings, though I don’t know at the moment about anything else. I’m lacking in a chain and clasp at the moment, but those are easy to source from the Boyes shop in town.

Aside from the aching fingers, I’m pretty happy with how things are going with this so far. It’s been a long time since I did anything with wirework and chain, and I’d almost forgotten how happy it made me!

dsc_7399

Leave a Reply

