2016.1 – Painting WIP

Sometimes I don’t have a plan in my head when I paint. So I just grab a colour, slap it on and roll with it. Today was one of those days; mainly because I had been trying to work on something my sister wanted, and had failed miserably. I got so angry I screwed up my reference image and threw it across the table!

But I was in the mood to paint. I had to paint something. And I haven’t had the inclination to paint for a very long time. So I sat down and let my arm guide me.

It’s a strange technique, but sometimes you get something elaborate out of it. Normally I don’t, but this time an actual picture formed.

DSC_7484.JPG

It’s not finished, but for the first time in a long time I have managed to get something down on canvas that wasn’t just a pile of splatter! I don’t really know how it will be “finished”, as I’m still not 100% sure what it’s supposed to look like, but when I find out, I will be sure to let you know!

Just so you know, when I don’t have a title for a painting, I name if after the year and which number painting it is until I think of one for it! As this is the first painting I have done in 2016, it’s currently called 2016.1 – yeah I know, not particularly interesting! So I would be open to ideas!

Leave a Reply

